Regulatory Agencies and Approvals

ASCII: American Standard Code for Information Interchange method of encoding characters into 7 or 8 binary bits (typically 7 bits plus an 8th bit for parity).

ANSI: The American National Standards Institute is a private organization that coordinates the creation of voluntary standards in a number of fields including engineering, electronics, and construction.

ASTM: The American Society for Testing and Materials is a scientific and technical organization that develops material standards and testing methods.

DIN: The Deutsche Industrie Normen is a German organization that develops universal standards for connections.

FM: The Factory Mutual System is an OSHA recognized agency concerned with fire safety and prevention; it tests and approves products. FM approval designates a product which does not create a fire hazard.

ISO 9000 series: The ISO 9000 series is divided into five international standards (ISO 9000, 9001, 9002, 9003, and 9004) addressing issues concerning product quality. The standards guide manufacturers on the development, production, installation, inspection, and management of products to assure total and consistent quality.

NEMA: The National Electrical Manufactures Association is a trade association of electrical equipment manufacturers that develops and publishes many manufacturing standards.

NIST: The National Institute of Standards and Technology is a government agency that provides standard reference materials and calibration services. NIST certified instruments are calibrated at NIST, NIST-traceable instruments are factory calibrated against NIST-certified standards.

NSF: The National Sanitation Foundation is a nongovernment agency focused on health related standards for products and services. Certification indicates products suited for applications such as food handling.

OEM: Products used by Original Equipment Manufacturers in the design of equipment.

OSHA: The Occupational Safety and Health Administration oversees and regulates workplace health and safety.

UL: underwriters laboratories, Inc. is concerned with safety of personnel and property. UL listing indicates compliance with UL safety standards for electrical, mechanical, and fire hazards.

USP Class VI: Safety evaluation standards set forth by the U.S. Pharmacopoeia/National Formulary pertaining to biocompatibility with plastics.

3A: Standards and practices developed by the 3A Standards Committee for equipment and systems suitable for use in the dairy industry.

Agency Icons

The icons below represent agencies that give various product approvals. Look for them next to products in this catalog.

Class 100

Products with this symbol meet U.S. Federal Standard 209E for Class 100 air quality.

Class 10

Products with this symbol meet U.S. Federal Standard 209E for Class 10 air quality.

FM Approved

Products with this mark meet certain requirements as reported by Factory Mutual Research.

ISO 9000 Registered Supplier

Products with this symbol meet ISO quality standards for design, development, and servicing capabilities.

UL Listed

Products with this symbol are listed by Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. Samples of these products have been evaluated by UL and meet the applicable UL standards for safety.

UL Listed for Canada

Products with this symbol bear the UL Listing Mark for Canada.

Canadian Standards Association approved

This symbol assures you that the product meets certain safety standards and/or performance criteria as set by the Canadian Standards Association.

Recognized Component Program

Products with this symbol are recognized under the Recognized Component Program of Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.

ETL listed

Products with this symbol are listed by ETL Testing Laboratories, Inc. and meet applicable safety standards.

Electrical Appliance and Material Control Law of Japan.

Products with this symbol meet standards set according to the Electrical Appliance and Material Control Law of Japan.